Hôpital Vétérinaire de L'Île-Perrot Inc.

Blog

Sterilisation of our companion animals is the responsible choice.

January 20, 2017

National Sterilisation Week in February.

chaton ret (Small)National Sterilisation Week is organized and implemented by the Association of Small Animal Veterinarians of Quebec (AMVQ) in order to underline the importance of sterilising our companion animals. The event, which takes place during one week of February every year, invites all Quebec pet owners to make the responsible choice to have their pets sterilised in order to stop overpopulation which too often leads to abandonment and euthanasia. Our shelters are filled to capacity and stray animals continue to multiply. If every owner of a companion animal would choose to sterilise their pet, the situation would undoubtedly improve.

Prevention of mammarian tumours and Pyometra

As well as preventing overpopulation, sterilisation aids in the overall health and prevention of disease in companion animals. Ovario-hysterectomy, which consists of removing the ovaries and uterus, if done before the first heat, prevents mammary tumours which are malignant in 50% of dog cases and 80% of cases in cats.

The surgery also prevents Pyometra, a serious and very painful infection of the uterus that requires immediate, emergency sterilisation. It is a disease that often strikes older animals that have not been spayed. Over time, the uterus fills with pus and becomes septic, causing shock and death if left untreated. The treatment of Pyometra consists of stabilising the patient by administering intravenous fluids and antibiotics and proceeding with surgery as rapidly as possible to remove the infected uterus and ovaries. The risks of surgery associated with a patient suffering from Pyometra are much more elevated than with a young cat or dog in good health, and may involve an extended and possibly complicated recovery time for an animal that is suffering such a severe infection. It is also worth mentioning that the cost of such an intervention is a much bigger strain on the bank account than a simple sterilisation.

Perianal adenoma, testicular tumours, and the prostate health of dogs

Male dogs that are not castrated are at risk of developing prostate problems with age. Prostatic hyperplasia is a benign condition which causes an enlargement of the prostate, a result of the long term effect of male hormones on the prostate. The condition could be asymptomatic in some dogs, while in others it may cause pain and may hinder the passing of urine and/or stool, given the size of the prostate. The owner may notice a bloody discharge or blood in the urine. Prostatic cysts are often associated with benign hyperplasia.  Both benign hyperplasia and prostatic cysts may lead to Prostatitis, a serious infection and inflammation of the prostate.

Diagnosis of a prostate problem is achieved by conducting several tests such as a rectal exam, a urine analysis, X-rays and/or an ultrasound of the prostate. Treatment involves castration, and in the case of Prostatitis, administration of antibiotics.

Perianal adenoma (several small nodules around the anus that become very prominent like a donut), and testicular tumours are other consequences of male hormones in intact dogs, not to mention behaviour issues such as marking of territory and increased aggression.

Male cats: Odour and aggression

Male cats that become sexually mature (tomcats) produce hormones that are responsible for the characteristic strong odour of their urine. The ‘fragrance’ emanating from their litter box often becomes increasingly intolerable to the majority of cat owners and more so when the tomcat starts marking his territory all over the house, a common behavior of fertile male cats. Castrated male cats are also much less likely to have confrontations with neighbourhood cats.

Lapin lion head ret (Small)Rabbits should also be sterilised

Male and female rabbits should be sterilised between the ages of 4 and 6 months. Male rabbits that become sexually mature have a tendency to mark their territory and often become aggressive. Fertile female rabbits have a higher incidence of developing adenocarcinoma of the uterus (a malignant cancer). Female rabbits as young as 1-2 years may develop uterine aneurysms characterised by bleeding from the uterus. This condition requires immediate, emergency surgery to avoid the risk of death.

Other small mammals

For other small mammals, if they are housed alone, elective sterilisation is generally not required if there are no particular health or behavior problems. For example, an intact chinchilla may live a long, healthy life free of complications since these animals are not generally known to have problems related to their reproductive systems. If males and females are kept together and reproduction is not desired, sterilisation of males is recommended since the surgery is less invasive than for females. Since small mammals tend to be fragile under anesthesia during general surgery, it is important to discuss the risks and the benefits with your veterinarian when making a decision.

oeuf cockatiel ret (Small)Birds

Chronic egg laying birds are at risk of developing complications from egg binding, a condition in which the bird is unable to pass an egg that has formed. They may benefit from sterilisation although the surgery is less common in birds due to the ovaries being located very close to the spinal column, making surgery more delicate and therefore risky. Surgery would only be suggested for birds of medium or large size and not as a routine procedure. Hormone treatments exist and are often efficient in the short term such as implants of Desloreline (Suprelorin), or intramuscular injections of Acetate of Leuprolide (Lupron). Modifications to the bird’s environment may sometimes help to diminish the frequency of laying, although in some cases the condition may be difficult to resolve and occurs seasonally or yearly.

iguane ret (Small)Reptiles

With regards to reptiles, iguanas are sometimes sterilised in order to avoid problems of aggressiveness in males and egg binding in females. The complexity of the surgery and the risks of anesthesia mean that intervention is only recommended as needed.

A question of being socially responsible

In conclusion, all pet owners should consult their veterinarian to evaluate the needs and implications of sterilising their pet. It is the owner’s responsibility to make sure their pet is a pleasant addition to the community. This starts with sterilisation to reduce the number of stray animals and to diminish the incidents of aggression between dogs and cats. Some municipalities have begun implementing legislation to obligate owners to sterilise their pets (excluding registered breeders), and/or to limit the territory of cats that go outside, all in an effort to ensure that every animal lives a long and healthy life in a loving home.

Have you got any questions?  Don’t hesitate to contact us and we will give you more information on this topic.

© 2019, Hôpital Vétérinaire de L'Île-Perrot Inc.
All rights reserved  |  Terms of use  |  Your web agency

Hôpital Vétérinaire de L'Île-Perrot Inc.

Blogue

La stérilisation de nos animaux de compagnie, un choix responsable

21 janvier 2019

Semaine nationale de la stérilisation en  Février

chaton ret (Small)La semaine nationale de la stérilisation mise sur pieds par l’Association des médecins vétérinaires du Québec (AMVQ) en pratique des petits animaux vise à sensibiliser la population sur l’importance de faire stériliser son animal de compagnie. Cette semaine qui a lieu à chaque année au mois de Février depuis 2013 invite les Québécois à poser un geste responsable, celui de faire stériliser leurs animaux de compagnie pour diminuer le nombre de naissances d’animaux non désirés  puis   abandonnés et euthanasiés. Les refuges débordent et les animaux sans foyer se multiplient. Si chaque propriétaire d’animal de compagnie faisait le geste responsable de faire stériliser son animal, la situation pourrait s’améliorer.

Prévention des tumeurs mammaires et infections de l’utérus

En plus de prévenir la reproduction non désirée et la multiplication d’animaux à placer, les chirurgies de stérilisation ont également des effets préventifs non négligeables sur la santé  des animaux. L’hystéro-ovariectomie qui consiste à retirer les 2 ovaires et l’utérus, si elle est pratiquée avant la première chaleur,  prévient les tumeurs mammaires dont 50% sont malignes chez la chienne et 80% chez la chatte.

Aussi, l’incidence de la  pyométrite (infection grave de l’utérus qui nécessite une stérilisation d’urgence) devient nulle après la stérilisation. La pyométrite survient fréquemment chez les chiennes et chattes plus âgées n’ayant pas été stérilisées. L’utérus se remplit alors de pus et entraîne chez la femelle un état septique pouvant mener au choc et à la mort s’il n’est pas pris en charge rapidement. Le traitement de la pyométrite consiste à stabiliser la patiente avec des fluides intra-veineux et des antibiotiques puis à passer le plus rapidement possible en chirurgie pour enlever l’utérus rempli de pus  et les ovaires. Les risques lors de la chirurgie d’une patiente avec pyométrite sont de loin plus élevés que la stérilisation d’une chienne ou chatte jeune et en bonne santé et le rétablissement est plus long et parfois compliqué. Ceci, sans compter les coûts qui ne sont pas du tout les mêmes.

Prostate, adénomes des glandes péri-anales et tumeurs testiculaires des chiens

Les chiens mâles non castrés risquent de développer des problèmes de prostate avec l’âge. L’hyperplasie bénigne  de la prostate (augmentation de volume de la prostate) survient très souvent chez les chiens mâles non castrés. Il s’agit d’un problème relié à l’exposition aux hormones sexuelles mâles. La condition peut être asymptomatique ou se manifester par une difficulté à déféquer ou à uriner vue la grosseur de la prostate. Un écoulement de l’urètre sanguinolent ou du sang dans l’urine attire généralement l’attention du propriétaire.

Les kystes prostatiques  sont souvent associés avec l’hyperplasie bénigne de la prostate. L’hyperplasie bénigne de la prostate et les kystes prostatiques prédisposent aux prostatites. La prostatite qui est une inflammation et infection de la prostate, occasionne de la  douleur et du sang dans l’urine ainsi que de la difficulté à uriner et/ou à déféquer.

Le diagnostic des troubles de la prostate se fait par un ensemble de tests dont le toucher rectal lors de l’examen physique, l’analyse urinaire, les radiographies et l’échographie de la prostate. Le traitement comporte la castration et, dans les cas des prostatites bactériennes, une antibiothérapie.

Les adénomes des glandes péri-anales (plusieurs petits nodules autour de l’anus qui devient très proéminent comme un beigne) et les tumeurs testiculaires sont d’autres conséquences des hormones mâles du chien non castré, sans oublier le comportement de fugue, de marquage urinaire  et parfois d’agressivité.

Chats mâles : odeur et bagarres

Quant aux chats mâles sexuellement matures, l’odeur de leur urine imprégnée d’hormones vous convaincra sans aucun doute de la nécessité de la castration ! Il faut castrer matou avant qu’il ne répande cette fragrance partout dans la maison afin de marquer son territoire. Le chat mâle castré sera également beaucoup moins impliqué dans des bagarres de rue!

Lapin lion head ret (Small)Les lapins et lapine aussi doivent être stérilisés

Les lapins, mâles ou femelles, devraient aussi être stérilisés vers l’âge de 4 à 6 mois. Les lapins mâles auront tendance à marquer leur territoire et à devenir plus agressifs à maturité sexuelle. Quant aux lapines fertiles, elles ont une forte tendance à développer des adénocarcinomes de l’utérus (cancer malin). Les jeunes lapines de 1-2 ans vont aussi parfois faire un anévrisme utérin qui se manifeste par des saignements utérins importants et une anémie menant au décès si la lapine n’est pas stérilisée d’urgence.

Autres petits mammifères

Pour ce qui est des autres petits mammifères, s’ils sont gardés seuls, la stérilisation élective n’est généralement pas requise s’il n’y a pas de pathologie reproductrice ou comportementale particulière. Par exemple, un chinchilla fera la plupart du temps très bien sa vie sans complication reproductrice s’il n’est pas stérilisé puisqu’il n’est pas particulièrement connu pour développer des maladies du système reproducteur. Si mâles et femelles sont gardés ensembles et que la reproduction doit être empêchée (ex. cochons d’Indes ou rats), la stérilisation des mâles sera favorisée puisque leur stérilisation est moins invasive que celle de la femelle. Les petits mammifères étant plus fragiles à l’anesthésie et aux  chirurgies, il faudra évaluer les bénéfices en fonction des risques dans la prise de décision.

oeuf cockatiel ret (Small)Oiseaux

Les oiseaux femelles pondeuses chroniques qui risquent de développer des complications par des oeufs retenus pourraient théoriquement bénéficier d’une stérilisation  bien que cette procédure soit encore peu répandue chez l’espèce aviaire. Comme leurs ovaires sont localisés très près de la colonne vertébrale, l’accès est limité et la chirurgie très délicate et non sans risques sera généralement réservée aux oiseaux de taille moyenne et grande et n’est pas recommandée de routine en simple prévention. Des traitements hormonaux existent pour ces cas et sont souvent efficaces à court terme (implants de Desloréline (Suprélorin) injectés sous la peau ou injections intra-musculaires d’Acétate de Leuprolide (Lupron)).Des modifications dans l’environnement de l’oiseau peuvent aussi aider à diminuer le problème de ponte, bien que chez certaines femelles, la condition soit difficile à résoudre et récurrente de façon saisonnière ou à l’année.

Reptiles

iguane ret (Small) Parmi les reptiles, les Iguanes sont parfois stérilisés (problème d’agressivité chez les mâles ou problème d’œufs retenus chez les femelles). La complexité de la chirurgie et les risques anesthésiques en font une intervention utilisée au besoin seulement.

Une question de responsabilité dans la société

En conclusion, un citoyen responsable doit évaluer avec le vétérinaire les besoins en matière de stérilisation pour son animal. Il revient au maître de prendre en charge la gestion de son animal en société et cela commence par la stérilisation pour diminuer la présence d’animaux errants, les bagarres entre chiens dans les endroits publics et les cas d’agression entre chiens ou chats. Certaines municipalités ont une législation établie en ce sens pour rendre obligatoire la stérilisation des chiens et/ou chats sur leur territoire et ceci est certainement une avenue à considérer (en excluant bien sûr les reproducteurs d’élevage).

La lecture de cet article soulève des questions?  N’hésitez pas à nous contacter car il nous fera plaisir de vous renseigner d’avantage sur le sujet.

© 2019, Hôpital Vétérinaire de L'Île-Perrot Inc.
Tous droits réservés  |  Conditions d’utilisation  |  Votre agence web